Boys XC 7th in State

Boys XC 7th in State

Congratulations to the Boys Cross Country team* for their seventh place finish in the 2018 State Class AAAAA meet. The Raiders closed out the season in style in Carrollton on Friday morning, November 2 with their best State finish since 2011, and back-to-back appearances in the Top 10. Last year, the Raiders were 9th overall.  *The Girls Cross Country team also finished seventh in the State.

Sophomore Eli Hoppenfeld ran a great race over the hills and finished with a time of 17:46, 16th overall. Senior Erick Ramirez finished his career with a strong 26th place finish, going under 18 minutes for the first time on the tough Carrollton course. Sophomore Cody Kaplan was close behind (18:03/30th). Closing out the scoring for the Raiders were Freshman Alex Culbreath (103rd) and Junior Harry Mehre (106th).

Head Coach Zach McKeone was very excited with the team's performance. "Eli Hoppenfeld, Erick Ramirez, and Cody Kaplan were awesome. They ran with the best in the state and showed great toughness on a tough course. Alex Culbreath didn't have any freshman jitters on the big stage; he ran his race and was a huge contributor. And Harry Mehre finally overcame his State jinx and ran his best time ever at Carrollton. I am very proud of this whole team. The Varsity, the JV, and everybody contributed by pushing each other every week in practice and in meets. This is the definition of a TEAM!"

Class AAAAA Team Scores
1 Starr's Mill                 71                
2 McIntosh                   86     
3 Decatur                   132                
4 South Effingham      173           
5 Grady                     190               
6 Loganville                224                    
7 Riverwood               278                
8 Clarkston                281         
9 Rome                     298  
10 Union Grove          301    

Raiders Top Seven
16 Eli Hoppenfield            17:45    
26 Erick Ramirez              17:57    
30 Cody Kaplan                18:03    
103 Alex Culbreath           19:07    
106 Harry Mehre              19:10    
159 Edgar Avalos Loaeza   20:09