Wrestlers Repeat as Area 6-AAAAA Traditional Champs

Wrestlers Repeat as Area 6-AAAAA Traditional Champs

Congratulations to the Wrestling team for repeating as the Area 6-AAAAA Traditional Champions.

Now that State Duals are complete, the Wrestling team moves into the last leg of the season. The Traditional Tournament, designed around individual wrestlers, determines the best wrestler in the State of Georgia at each weight class. Each team earns points depending on where each wrestler places. Last year, the Raiders captured the 2017 Area 6-AAAAA Title with 207 total points, beating Decatur, who had 186. This year's Traditional Tournament would be much closer.

Just like 2017, the Raiders hosted the Area Tournament, and Decatur was the main competition. The Raiders and the Bulldogs again dominated the tournament; of the 28 wrestlers in the finals, the Raiders had ten and the Bulldogs had twelve. Rounding out the field were three from North Springs, two from Lithia Springs, and one from Banneker. The Raiders went 7-3 in the finals, including pins from Alex Gruenig, Slim Harris, and Ronald Humphrey, earning 230 team points. Even though the Bulldogs went 6-6, they only accrued 225 points.

All thirteen Raiders advance to the Sectionals next week at Buford. Everyone will shoot to finish in the top eight and earn a trip to the State Tournament in Macon.

Congratulations to the Raiders advancing to Sectionals:

Weight     Name Area Finish
106 Tess McQuary 3rd
120 Ronan Quigley 1st
126 Alex Gruenig 1st
132 Mick McQuary 2nd
138 AJ Harris 1st
145 Ethan Hunt 2nd
152 Slim Harris 1st
160 Tre Forbes 1st
170 Daba Fofana 1st
182 Ronald Humphrey       1st
195 Nicolo Salvatori 3rd
220 Malcolm Stewart 2nd
285 Justin Miller 4th